City of Dust

City of Dust

In City of Dust, Anthony DePalma offers the first full accounting of one of the gravest environmental catastrophes in United States history. The destruction on 9/11 of two of the world's largest buildings unleashed a vortex of dust and ash that blotted out the sun and has distorted science, medicine and public policy ever since. The likely dangers of 9/11's massive dust cloud were evident from the beginning, yet thousands chose not to see. Why? As the sickening results of exposure became evident, many still refused to recognize them. Why? The consequences are still being tallied in the wasted bodies and disrupted lives of thousands who gave their all when the need was greatest, but whose demands for justice have been consumed by years of politics and courtroom maneuvers. Why?, separating reality from myth - and doing so with exceptional literary style and grace. DePalma covered Ground Zero for The New York Times for four years. DePalma introduces heroic firefighters, dedicated doctors and scientists, obsessive city officials, partisan politicians, aggressive lawyers, and compassionate judges and reveals the individual decisions that destroyed public trust, and the desperate attempts made to rebuild it. The dust that was the World Trade Center has changed everything it touched. This is the story of that dust, the 9/11 disaster after the disaster, and what it tells us about ourselves and our future.


Author
Publisher FT Press
Release Date
ISBN 013212131X
Pages 346 pages
City of Dust
Language: en
Pages: 346
Authors: Anthony DePalma
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-07-06 - Publisher: FT Press

In City of Dust, Anthony DePalma offers the first full accounting of one of the gravest environmental catastrophes in United States history. The destruction on
City of Dust
Language: en
Pages: 390
Authors: Gregg Andrews
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002-09-20 - Publisher: University of Missouri Press

Mark Twain's boyhood home of Hannibal, Missouri, often brings to mind romanticized images of Twain's fictional characters Huck Finn or Tom Sawyer exploring cave
City of Flows
Language: en
Pages: 213
Authors: Maria Kaika
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005 - Publisher: Psychology Press

First Published in 2005. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
The Collected Works of Witness Lee, 1954, volume 4
Language: en
Pages: 599
Authors: Witness Lee
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Living Stream Ministry

The Collected Works of Witness Lee, 1954, volume 4, contains messages given by Brother Witness Lee in October through December 1954. Historical information conc
Cumulated Index Medicus
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories: Medicine
Type: BOOK - Published: 1968 - Publisher:

Folsom South of U.S. 50 Specific Plan Project, Sacramento County
Language: en
Pages: 4
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011 - Publisher:

The New Death and Others
Language: en
Pages: 105
Authors: James Hutchings
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-09-27 - Publisher: James Hutchings

Insane Sisters
Language: en
Pages: 277
Authors: Gregg Andrews
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999-09-30 - Publisher: University of Missouri Press

Insane Sisters is the extraordinary tale of two sisters, Mary Alice Heinbach and Euphemia B. Koller, and their seventeen- year property dispute against the nati
Lafayette Place Redevelopment, Boston
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1978 - Publisher:

City of Iron and Dust
Language: en
Pages: 0
Authors: J.P. Oakes
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-06 - Publisher: National Geographic Books

Fast-paced and razor-sharp dark fantasy for readers of Nicholas Eames, Anna Smith Spark and Robert Jackson Bennett "A fantastic book, full of wit and sharp humo