The Forbidden Orchid

The Forbidden Orchid

The adventures of a British girl in China, hunting for the orchid that will save her family. Staid, responsible Elodie Buchanan is the eldest of ten sisters growing up in a small English market town in 1861. The girls barely know their father, a plant hunter usually off adventuring through China, more myth than man. Then disaster strikes: Mr. Buchanan reneges on his contract to collect an extremely rare and valuable orchid. He will be thrown into debtors’ prison while his daughters are sent to the orphanage and the workhouse. Elodie can’t stand by and see her family destroyed, so she persuades her father to return to China once more to try to hunt down the flower—only this time, despite everything she knows about her place in society, Elodie goes with him. She has never before left her village, but what starts as fear turns to wonder as she adapts to seafaring life aboard the tea clipper The Osprey, and later to the new sights, dangers, and romance of China. She comes to find that both the world and her place in it are so much bigger than she’d ever dreamed. But now, even if she can find the orchid, how can she ever go back to being the staid, responsible Elodie that everybody needs?


Author
Publisher Penguin
Release Date
ISBN 0698187970
Pages 416 pages
The Forbidden Orchid
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Sharon Biggs Waller
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-03-08 - Publisher: Penguin

The adventures of a British girl in China, hunting for the orchid that will save her family. Staid, responsible Elodie Buchanan is the eldest of ten sisters gro
Blue Hawaii
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: T.C. Arthur
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-04-26 - Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

When Jack Thorne was given the assignment to protect a corporate whistleblower in the wealthy town of Westport, Connecticut, he is thrown into a passionate roma
A Mad, Wicked Folly
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: Sharon Biggs Waller
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-01-23 - Publisher: Penguin

In Edwardian London, a girl dreams of being an artist, despite her family's disapproval. Welcome to the world of the fabulously wealthy in London, 1909, where d
The Opera of the Twentieth Century
Language: en
Pages: 308
Authors: William Schoell
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-01-24 - Publisher: McFarland

In the late 1500s in Florence, aristocrats of the Renaissance renovated classical Greek dramas into dramatic musicals and gave birth to the first operas. After
My Eyes of Desire
Language: en
Pages: 200
Authors: Jamel Gross
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-02-10 - Publisher: Book Venture Publishing LLC

As I witness day is born. I breathe new life. Into a world unknown. Let there be eternal light over darkness. Each dawn brings new life. The day that starts the
An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Virginia Boecker
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-23 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Shakespeare in Love meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in this witty and thrilling story of star-crossed assassins in Elizabeth England, perfect for fans of My Lady Jane
Beautiful Mornin'
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Ethan Mordden
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999-10-07 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

"Music and girls are the soul of musical comedy," one critic wrote, early in the 1940s. But this was the age that wanted more than melody and kickline form its
Broadway Musicals, 1943äóñ2004
Language: en
Pages: 1050
Authors: John Stewart
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-11-21 - Publisher: McFarland

On March 31, 1943, the musical Oklahoma! premiered and the modern era of the Broadway musical was born. Since that time, the theatres of Broadway have staged hu
The Complete Book of 1940s Broadway Musicals
Language: en
Pages: 610
Authors: Dan Dietz
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-02-02 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

The debut of Oklahoma! in 1943 ushered in the modern era of Broadway musicals and was followed by a number of successes that have become beloved classics. Shows
Martin Pippin in the apple orchard
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: E. Farjeon
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Рипол Классик